Welcome!

Welcome to Bacon Bits…a little corner of the World Wide Web where I share my ramblings, opinions, findings, and thoughts about this journey we all call life.

Here’s a little bit about me…

My name is Jody.

I’m overweight…I’m positive this is probably the first thing people notice about me when they first meet me.

I’m working on not being overweight…I’ve been living the low-carb lifestyle since March 6, 2012. As of today, I’ve lost 86 pounds!!! I hope to lose another 94 pounds and invite you to join me as I continue on this journey.

I’m 33…I’ve been overweight all of my life. When I made the decision to start changing my eating habits I was at my heaviest (sharing this number is scary for me…I will eventually, but not today). Things had spiraled out of control and if I didn’t do something, I was going to have some serious health issues. My knees were beginning to hurt daily, I couldn’t climb up more than 5 steps without becoming winded, and don’t get me started on chairs (that’s a whole other post). The last couple of times at the doctor’s office, my blood pressure was elevated, which it had never been. Change needed to happen NOW!

I’m following the Atkins WOE (way of eating)…I have done Atkins in the past and had great success. I probably would have continued with it if I hadn’t moved to a third world country and had to eat rice 3 times/day for 2 1/2 years. When I returned to the States, I went back to my old eating habits, started graduate school, and the pounds started adding up.

I have 2 dogs and 2 cats…they make me laugh and have made me cry. I’m sure there will be many pictures and stories I will share about them on here…this is a warning!

8 thoughts on “Welcome!

  1. Jody, I am so proud of you! I started back to weight watchers in sept with other friends, the moral support I receive from WW and friends help so much. I sure hope I can be of moral support to you too. We can help each other!

    • Hey Lori! I will take (and give) as much moral support as I can 🙂 That’s great that WW is going well for you! I truly believe that people find what works best for them. Keep it up lady!!! Keep in touch.

    • Hey, Laura! Yep, when I use the “D” word it means (to me) that I am depriving myself of something and will return to my old eating habits once I get to a certain point, a certain weight, a certain whatever. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

