Peanut Butter Chocolate Muffins

PeanutButterChocoMIM 1
This morning I felt inspired to do a little baking. Although I can eat nuts, I have been avoiding peanut butter. Too many times there is added sugar and salt, which I don’t need. I have really enjoyed different extracts and flavorings. Who knew there were so many flavors-in-a-bottle?!?!

So I went to work to try and make the perfect muffin. I have a go-to flaxseed meal muffin recipe that I have tweaked and changed to my liking. This recipe is so versatile! Here it is:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

6 T melted butter (unsalted or salted)
6 T heavy cream
1 1/2 t baking powder
6 large egg
1 1/2 C golden flaxseed meal

Combine all of the above ingredients in mixing bowl.

From this recipe, you can make either sweet or savory muffins. Today I added:

sugar substitute (I didn’t specify amount as it varies for each person…for me, I like the equivalent of 2 packets of sweetener per muffin…6 muffins=12 packets. I used to use Splenda, but have been using Truvia or Stevia since it’s all natural.)
6 t peanut butter extract
12 sugar free Hershey’s minis broken in half (do not add to batter).

Divide the batter into a jumbo muffin baking pan (makes 6). Place 4 pieces of the Hershey’s minis in each muffin. Be sure the pieces are covered with the batter. Bake in oven for approximately 20-25 minutes. Muffins should be golden brown on top.

I had high hopes for these muffins. While they were ok, they weren’t my favorite, but I will keep trying. They will make a nice, easy breakfast in the mornings when I’m running out the door for work. You can’t beat a 2 net carb muffin!

PeanutButterChocoMIM 2

Nutritional Information per muffin:
calories: 437     Fat: 39 g     protein: 13.15 g     carbohydrates: 11.13 g     fiber: 9.2 g
net carbs: 1.93 g

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Muffins

Leave a Reply

