Sweet and Spicy Almonds

IMAG0593

Who doesn’t love the sweet and savory combination??? I can’t get enough of it (which is a problem sometimes!)!!! After i made the last almond snack (Rosemary Almonds), I set out to create the perfect sweet/spicy nut. I wanted something caramelly, crunch, with a little heat. My first task was to search the interwebs to find something that matched what I was looking for. I found a recipe that I modified on All Cooks.com.

So, here’s what I did…

Ingredients:
1 egg white
1 t vanilla extract
3 C raw almonds
1/2 C sugar substitute (I used a blend of Splenda and Stevia In The Raw)
1 t cinnamon
1 t chili powder
1/4 t sea salt

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

In a mixing bowl, whisk the egg white and extract together until frothy. It shouldn’t be runny; mine looked like foam. Stir in the almonds and coat evenly.

Combine the sugar substitute, cinnamon, chili powder, and seal salt in a small bowl and mix. Add to the almonds in the large mixing bowl and coat evenly.

On a greased jelly roll pan, spread the almonds evenly and bake in oven for 60 minutes. Stir almonds every 20 minutes.

Let cool for 30 minutes before storing in an air tight container.

That’s it! Enjoy these tasty nuggets of joy!

I will post nutrition information later. This recipe makes approximately 18 servings and come in right around 3 Net Carbs.

Leave a Reply

