What’s In That???

I ask a lot of questions about my food these days. I never did this before living la vida low-carb. I would go to a friend’s house, out to a restaurant, or buy mostly whatever I pleased without looking at the nutrition labels or asking how something was prepared. I had considered myself pretty aware regarding nutrition, but I came to realize how out of tune I actually was.

Oh, look, my favorite hotdish! There’s baked chicken and broccoli in it??? Oh man, that’s gotta be healthy! Never mind the kraft cheese slices, miracle whip, and crumbled crackers on top. I hate to think how many carbs are in one recommended serving, let alone the portion I usually divvied out to myself. I’m guessing there were probably as many net carbs in that one meal than I currently eat in two days.

It’s amazing to me the amount of sugar and empty carbs that are put into commercial foods. There are “hidden” sugars in just about EVERYTHING! Real mayonnaise, bacon, ranch dressing…if you buy it in a store, there will more than likely be added sugar. Next time you’re browsing in the grocery store, take a look at the ingredients list on some products you think are savory and would never have sugar. If sugar, corn syrup, fructose, invert sugar, turbinado, etc. are listed in the ingredients then the company has ADDED (does not occur naturally) sugar to their product.

I want to take a second to give a shout out to my friends and family who have supported me along this journey. Pretty much anytime my group of friends get together these days, we discuss what the menu will be so “Jody can eat it too!” At first I really felt like I was being annoying and making it difficult to have a low key gathering. Who knows, I might be, but I really appreciate my friends and their thoughtfulness (there are too many to name, but Tara, you get a special shout-out!).

I do a lot of preparing before going to restaurants, too. Usually I will look on their website for menus and nutrition information. This way I know exactly what I’m going to have and what is in it. It takes the pressure off of me to try and figure it out when I’m there. If menus aren’t available, then I ask my waiter/waitress a few questions about different menu items. I had a few surprises when I began, like ordering salmon with a soy/wasabi sauce. They should have called it a glaze as it was super sweet!

Sometimes I still feel like I make people uncomfortable with my diet restrictions. I touched on the things some people say in my last post about eating off plan, but it’s amazing how adamant some are when offering a sugary, wheat filled tidbit of food. At first I thought they felt bad that I “couldn’t” have the treat they were offering. I don’t feel like I’m missing out when there is something offered that doesn’t fit into my WOE. I don’t get offended. I don’t take it personally. I don’t find myself drooling over and wishing I could have it either. Sometimes I wonder if others are uncomfortable because I am able to say no? I don’t know, it’s just a thought. I don’t judge, but I will have a spirited conversation about the evils of wheat and sugars if another person opens the door with a question.

So, if you ever invite me over for dinner, be prepared. You will find me asking you several questions about the menu…especially, “What’s in that?”

Leave a Reply

