My Staples

Groceries 1.29.13

I make sure I always have low-carb options handy in my kitchen. Many people think that eating low-carb hurts the checkbook (heck, most people think healthy eating is expensive). It all depends on the effort you put into doing the research, looking for the best deals and being prepared before going to the grocery store. I will concede that if you eat steak and lobster every meal, then yes, you will notice a big difference in your wallet.

In this economy, everyone needs to be aware of where their money goes. I’ve begun loading up on cheap ground beef, chicken, and pork. I’ve even started looking through the weekly sales fliers that come out in the newspaper!!! I used to think that took a lot of time and effort for pennies worth of savings. Boy was I wrong!!!

For today’s blog post, I thought I would share some of the staple food items I keep on hand at all times (for the most part :)).

Refrigerator
Veggies: cucumbers, tomatoes, romaine lettuce, spinach, zucchini, cauliflower
Dairy: butter (usually salted), cream cheese, shredded cheese (it depends on my mood, but usually mozzarella), eggs, heavy cream
Condiments: Trader Joe’s Real Mayonnaise, Trader Joe’s Wasabi Mayonnaise, yellow mustard, Heinz Reduced Sugar Ketchup

Freezer
Veggies: cauliflower, brussels sprouts, cauliflower/broccoli blend, spinach
Meats: ground beef, chicken thighs and breasts, pork roast, some sort of seafood (whatever is on sale…shrimp, cod, salmon, etc.), bacon, ground sausage

Pantry
Flaxseed Meal
Oils: EVOO, canola, coconut, Pam Cooking Spray (butter flavor)
Vinegar: apple cider, red wine, white
Canned: green beans, tuna, chicken
Artificial Sweetener: Truvia (both granular and liquid)
Nuts/Seeds: pumpkin seeds (pepitas), almonds

Spices/Herbs/Other
Cocoa Powder
Baking Powder
Extracts: lemon (pure…my FAVORITE!), maple, vanilla (pure), almond (pure)
Spices: Northwoods Blend (Penzy’s), Bangkok Blend (Penzy’s), lemon pepper, cajun, Italian seasoning
Herbs (dried): basil, rosemary, parsley, chives
Salt
Pepper

Many of these things I already had in my kitchen when I started, however it can be somewhat expensive if you don’t have a stocked refrigerator or pantry. My suggestion is to start slowly. Get the absolute essentials first and work your way to stocking up. This list is very subjective, however I use most of the items above a couple of times each week, if not daily.

I have most of the above listed items at any given time in my kitchen. Being prepared for meals and snacks is key to staying on track. I usually plan my meals at least a day in advance when I’m working. On my day off, I usually prepare something to take with me to work. This way I have easily accessible items at any given time. Makes my life super simple!

Leave a Reply

