Surgery…Not My Idea of a Good Time

HeelSpur

I’m going under the knife! I haven’t talked too much about this slight annoyance on my blog yet, but a few of my close friends and family know that I’ve been dealing with a nasty heel spur over the last 6 or so months. Well, I didn’t know that I actually had the spur until the beginning of December, but I had been experiencing some pretty intense heel pain since last May. I thought I had just bruised the bottom of my heel walking around a rocky driveway in some thin flip-flops. I was hoping it would heal up on its own, but that obviously wasn’t the case.

In December my housemate talked me into seeing my podiatrist (THANKS, SHERRI!!!) since I was walking around like a frail, old woman in the evenings. The doc took x-rays and it took him about 2 seconds to diagnose me with a heel spur. Usually a quick injection of cortisone fixes things right up, but I didn’t feel any relief. The doctor then prescribed an oral steroid to try and “amp up” the shot. Still no relief. The doctor told me to come in for another injection in which he doubled up the amount of cortisone. He told me to call him in a week to let him know how I was doing. I thought it might be working, but in the end I was still experiencing the horrible pain at night.

Pain really sucks. It makes everything 10 times worse than what it really is. My work outs started to suffer. My heel didn’t hurt when I was actually doing the work out, but I would think about what I had to deal with a few hours after exercising. I began to miss Zumba class here and there. I called my doctor and told him that I wasn’t having any relief even though I followed his instructions to a “T.”

So, back I went to his office. He reviewed my x-rays again and I told him I was interested in talking about other options to deal with the spur. My doc is very up front and said that his recommendation was to surgically remove the spur since it wasn’t responding to the steroid therapy. He also told me that this wasn’t something that could be addressed through physical therapy. The procedure is relatively easy. He will make an incision in the side of my heel, grind down the spur, and remove a nerve. The surgery takes no more than 35-45 minutes and it’s an outpatient procedure (THANK GOODNESS!!!). I’m pretty much all set to have this thing removed on February 11…only 11 days away!

After I was diagnosed with a heel spur, I did research as to why I got this nasty growth on the bottom of my foot. A bone spur forms as the body tries to repair itself by building extra bone. It typically forms in response to pressure, rubbing, or stress that continues over a long period of time. A spur will form on the heel due to tight ligaments, high impact activities (such as running and dancing…so not me), or due to being overweight. DING, DING, DING…I had an explanation!

Just another reason to add to the, “Why I Am Changing My Life” list. I’m COMMITTED!!!

I know things could be worse and I am so grateful for the many blessing I have in my life. Overall, I am in good health. I have so many friends and family members who love and care about me. My doctor is top notch. I am thankful!!!

2 thoughts on “Surgery…Not My Idea of a Good Time

  1. Hope surgery is the ticket to feeling so much better . You have tried everything else . How long will you be slowed down during recovery? Hang in there, Jods

Leave a Reply

