Getting Ready

I didn’t post as regularly as I usually do on my weekend off. I spent the two days resting and getting ready for recovering after my surgery. I currently live in a 2-story house so you can imagine how the stairs situation may pose a bit of an issue with a healing foot. That being said, I have a few wonderful people who are going to help me out the first couple of days after my surgery.

My very good friend, Tara (here’a nother shout out for ya, Girl!), is going to drive me to Pittsburgh for the procedure. I have to check-in at 5:15 a.m.!!!!!!! If I could get it changed to a later time, I would…sorry, Tara! That means we have to leave my house by about 4:30 a.m. Poor Tara probably needs to leave her house around 4:00 a.m.-ish. When I get home, I’m going to camp out in my bedroom on the 2nd floor of my house for the next couple of days.

Sherri, my housemate, is going to help me a lot, too…as if I don’t have enough to thank her for!!! She is such a HUGE help and I really appreciate all she does. The pooches really adore her as well.

To make life easier post-surgery, I’m going to be making a lot of food this weekend that can be reheated in the microwave or served as is. There are lemon flaxseed muffins in the freezer already (my FAVORITE!!!). I will also be making my famous (famous with the residential clients I work with anyway!) cucumber and tomato salad and curry tuna salad. I think I will probably make a meatloaf and roast some veggies as well.

I thought I would include my curry tuna salad recipe as it is one of my go-to meals…especially when I’m in a hurry and don’t have a lot of time. I can’t get enough of it!

Ingredients:
1 large can tuna in water
2 large spoonfuls Trader Joe’s Real Mayonnaise
1 t curry powder
1/4 t onion powder
1/4 t garlic powder
salt and pepper to taste

Mix all ingredients together until well incorporated. Chill in refrigerator for at least 1 hour for flavors to meld.

I absolutely LOVE to add halved grape tomatoes and cucumbers to the tuna salad. I usually use romaine lettuce leaves and make yummy lettuce wraps.

2 thoughts on “Getting Ready

  1. It sounds like you have amazing friends. You have a way of bringing the best out in those around you. I sure hope your surgery goes perfectly. And you bounce back promptly. Best of Luck The curry tuna sounds delish

    • I do have incredible friends!!! And thank you so much for the compliment…ya make me blush sometimes, Murph 🙂 I’m hoping for a quick recovery as well…3 weeks and back to the gym I go! If you like curry, you will LOVE the tuna!

Leave a Reply

