Spicy Sweet Buffalo Chicken

20130303-175126.jpg

As I was planning what I wanted to make for dinner the other night, I got a big craving for buffalo wings. I thought about all of my favorite bar haunts and the ridiculous number of ways these places prepare their wings. There is inevitably always a sweet and spicy option that usually has an Asian flare to it, however I really wanted the traditional buffalo taste with a slightly sweet note.

What transpired in my kitchen has to be one of my most favorite chicken recipes to date! I’ve made this recipe 3 times in the past week!

20130303-175119.jpg

Ingredients:
Family pack of chicken thighs (approximately 8-10 pieces)
1/4-1/3 C Frank’s Buffalo Wing Sauce
Artificial Sweetener (I used the equivalent of 3-4 packets of Stevia in liquid form)
3 T butter
Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Get a frying pan screaming hot and brown thighs skin side down until it’s crispy and golden-brown. Flip and brown other side of thighs. During the browning, stir the wing sauce and sweetener together. Melt butter in microwave. Place browned thighs on cooking sheet. Season chicken with salt and pepper. Drizzle the thighs with the butter and spoon the wing sauce over thighs liberally. Bake thighs for 45 minutes.

That’s it! Easy, peasy, right??? I topped my thighs with blue cheese dressing. Another option is ranch dressing. Any way you eat these, you will be addicted!!! The carbs for this recipe is so minimal, that I’m not even going to give totals. If you add dipping sauces, be sure to count those Net Carbs.

Leave a Reply

