Chicken Fried Steak

I had Sandra Lee’s Money Saving Meals show on the other day and she made chicken fried steak with sawmill sausage gravy. I thought to myself as I watched her fry up the steaks, “Hmmmm, I really think I could make this recipe.” And that’s exactly what I did! I am quite pleased with how this recipe turned out. Some of you may be asking, “Don’t you have to use flour to bread the cube steak?” YES! I did use flour, however not that nastly, old wheat flour. No, I had a bag of soy flour in my pantry just waiting to be opened.

Here’s how this recipe went down….

Ingredients:
4 cube steaks
1/2 C soy flour
1 t onion powder
1 t garlic powder
1/2 t smoked paprika
Salt and Pepper to taste
2 eggs
1/2 C canola oil

First combine the flour, onion powder, garlic powder, and smoked paprika in a pie plate. In a second pie plate, wisk eggs. The eggs may need some thinning out. You can use either water or a small amount of heavy cream.

Season the cube steaks with salt and pepper. Dredge the beef first in the flour mixture. Shake off any excess flour and then dip in egg. Dredge in flour mixture a second time. Shake off excess flour and set aside. Be sure the cube steaks are evenly coated with the egg mixture before dredging for the second time.

Heat the oil in a skillet on medium-high heat. Fry the cube steaks until they form a golden brown crust. This usually takes approximately 3-5 minutes per steak. Let the beef rest on a paper towel lined plate.

That’s it! Super simple and quite tasty. I have to admit, this is the first fried food I’ve had in almost a year. It was fun to have, but I definitely won’t be making this very often. I am not craving this fried foods anymore. I also did not make the sausage gravy. I may try to concoct this recipe in the future. I could see myself making some flaxseed “bisquits” and topping them with the gravy.

Each steak is approximately 2 Net Carbs. 1/4 C of soy flour has 3 Net Carbs.

Leave a Reply

