What I “Get” To Eat

alexfoodpyramid

Most of the time, when someone goes on a “diet,” there is this self-sacrificing mentality. “I have to give up this and that and those!” Sure, I removed wheat, sugar, and some high starch vegetables from my diet, but the list of acceptable foods is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay longer than the list of no-no’s.

When many people change their food lifestyle, especially when they are “forced” to do so due to medical issues, the focus is placed on what they will be missing out on. Don’t get me wrong, I have thrown a few pity parties due to the choices I’ve made to remove certain foods from my diet, but then I remember all of the delicious foods I can still have. Nope, I can’t have popcorn anymore, which was one of my favorite snacks and has been the most difficult to find a replacement snack that is acceptable. And I really miss fruit…pineapple, apples, kiwi, peaches/nectarines, plums…the list can go on for quite a while. Popcorn and fruit…my only foods I truly miss. Although I can’t eat these right now, I can slowly add them back into my diet eventually.

So what do I do when I wish I could have popcorn??? Well, for a little while pork rinds drizzled with butter was my snack of choice. It worked for a while. I got the buttery crunch I was looking for, but it just wasn’t the same. Eventually I succumbed to the fact that there isn’t a substitute and instead stocked my cupboards with other options. I love almonds and can have these tasty treats in moderation. I love all of the fun flavors available now…cocoa roasted, wasabi soy, smoked, salt and vinegar…yum!

I guess the point of this post is to remind you and me to stay positive. Don’t focus on the “can’t haves.” Focus on the “can haves!” Life is way too short to get hung up on the short list of things I can’t have. Last week (March 6, 2013), I reached my one year anniversary of starting this journey. I would have never made it this far if I hated what I was eating! If I dreaded my food choices there would have been no way to stick with it for so long. I am living a life I can ENJOY and I don’t feel deprived!

2 thoughts on “What I “Get” To Eat

  1. Thank you for sharing. I absolutely agree with you about “not sweating the small stuff (the have nots) but focus on the haves. You are an inspiration and I want to congratulate you on your 1 year anniversary and 90 pounds weight loss. I also enjoy your recipes and ideas on how to enjoy cooking and foods (such as Chinese) the low-carb way. Your journey is my journey – I will keep on walking even though at times I get tired of “this low carb road”.

    • Hey Dana, thanks so much for sharing your thoughts! Sometimes I wonder if people are finding any of my posts helpful! It can be so easy to get hung up on the stuff we “can’t” have. That’s exactly the reason I’m trying to figure out recipes for my favorite can’t haves. I’ll keep walking with ya on the low carb road!!!

Leave a Reply

