So I Had Weight Loss Surgery…

Well folks, I’m back. And things have changed a lot since my last blog post almost 4 years ago.

During my absence, I fell off the low carb bandwagon hard. I gained every single pound back and then some. I ballooned, became extremely depressed and hid from the world. I hit rock bottom. 

I went to my primary care doctor in December 2015 and had a breakdown. We made a health plan to hopefully help me lose a little of my excess weight and I was to come back in a month. In that month I actually gained weight. My primary doc is amazing and gently brooched the topic of weight loss surgery. 

What?! How did I fail so miserably that I needed to resort to taking “the easy way out?!” Boy how wrong this way of thinking was, but I’ll share more about that in another post. THIS IS ANYTHING BUT THE EASY WAY OUT!!!

It didn’t take me long after my intense research into weight loss surgery to decide I didn’t want to reroute my intestines. I chose to have the Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy in which 80% of my stomach has been removed. 

I went through about 5 months of preparation which included an initial consult with my surgeon (Dr. Z…he’s pretty awesome), lab work, 6 dietician visits, a psychological evaluation, barium swallow test and endoscopy. During this time I also studied, learned about the changes I would experience and complications that could come up. I joined the bariatric center’s once-a-month support group too. 

On August 30, 2016 I had my surgery. My parents were with me (thank goodness!!! Even as an adult I just want my parents with me for some things!). Everything went smoothly! I stayed overnight one night and then the real journey began. 

I’m ecstatic with my progress so far. As of this morning I’ve lost 181 pounds. I’m hoping to lose at least 62 more. I’m relearning how to eat, what to eat, and even when to eat. I’m happier and excited about life again. I have more energy now than I think I had in high school!!! In future posts I plan to share more about this whole process. 

Feel free to contact me with questions, comments, concerns, etc. I’ve been blessed to have supportive family and friends who have been with me since the beginning of this journey. I was never hiding this decision, but I definitely was not making it very public either. It’s time to put it out there because it’s a part of me…and I’m so proud of me!!!

Leave a Reply

