Protein Shakes…My Lifeline!

Protein. Protein, protein, protein. It’s my mantra every day. It’s what I focus on constantly. Since I had 80% of my stomach removed, the amount of food I can actually eat has greatly diminished. Since I have such a limited capacity for food, I have to make sure I eat the most important nutrients first. 

Protein is THE MOST IMPORTANT nutrient and it has been pounded into my brain…”protein first!” I need to get between 70-100 grams of protein everyday. It’s a struggle sometimes due to all of the “rules” I have to follow (I’ll get into those in another post) when it comes to mealtime. 

Protein powders and shakes help me out with my protein intake. I look for a shake that has at least 20 grams of protein in a serving, no more than 115 calories in a powder, low carb (5 or less usually), and no added sugar. Here are a few of my favorites!

Bariatric Eating Inspire Cafe Bella

Love this stuff because it not only is a delicious, no protein aftertaste, vanilla cinnamon cappuccino flavor but also packs in 350mg of calcium. This brand overall has amazing and fun flavors at 20 grams a serving. A little expensive, but very high quality. My pantry is stocked with several flavors. I always mix with unsweetened vanilla almond milk. 

IsoLicious Cereal Flavored Powder

Perhaps this brand can be considered a guilty pleasure of mine. I’ve tried 2 of the 3 flavors…cinnamon cereal and fruity cereal. They taste like the milk that is leftover in the bowl when you’ve eaten up that Cinnamon Toast Crunch or Fruity Pebbles! This come in at 25 grams of protein per serving. It’s on the sweet side so I always add a couple of ounces of water to the 8 ounces of almond milk to balance out the sweetness. I find deals on this product on various websites. 

Premier Protein Ready to Drink Shake

Sometimes I just want a ready to drink shake and Premier Protein is my go to at 30 grams of protein. Sam’s Club has a 12 pack and I love the chocolate. I also like the caramel flavor but it’s pretty sweet and I’ve been taking a break from it. 

Quest Protein Powders 

I just started using this brand this week. I only have the Vanilla Milkshake flavor and use it to make hot chai tea lattes that packs 22 grams of protein. Trust me, they’re delicious! I’m looking forward to trying a couple other flavors like salted caramel and cookies and cream. 

Trimino Protein Infused Water

I just received this product yesterday and have not tried it yet. Reviews say it is like the Bai water product, but better! It comes in 4 flavors: peach, mixed berry, strawberry lemonade, and coconut pineapple. Only 7 grams of protein so this is not considered a meal replacement. I plan to use when I’m just below my protein goal and will help with my water intake. 

There are so many products on the market today and can be difficult to navigate through what is a good, healthy choice, and what’s not so great. It takes a while to learn what to look for, but it’s possible!

Leave a Reply

